Aurora, a personal scare

Aurora is only a few miles from Littleton, Co. The site of the Columbine High

Aurora is miles from Littleton, Co., site of the Columbine High School shooting. (Photo: CNN)

On July 20, 2012 a lone gunman walked into a movie theater in Aurora, Co. and opened fire.

My best friend  lives in Aurora, six miles from the theater.

I was visiting my sister at the time and was asleep when the news broke. She knew how close my best friend and I were, so when she saw the news on what had happened she immediately woke me up.

I instantly grabbed my phone to call my best friend, but she did not answer. Eventually, she called me back to let me know she was safe. She said she had been invited to the premiere the day before, but turned it down to get some rest. She said she had a few friends at the theater, but they all made it out safe.

I am so grateful she turned down the invitation, but my heart still hurts for all those that were affected.

James Holmes, 24, killed 12 people and injured 58. He told police he was “the Joker,” a popular villain in the Batman series. According to CNN, Holmes propped open a rear exit door to get his weapons then returned in a gas mask and protective gear.

Police say Holmes purchased his weapons legally. (Photo credit: CNN)

Police say Holmes purchased his weapons legally. (Photo credit: CNN)

I think mass shootings are on the rise. I do not know how to reduce them, but I believe someday we will figure out how to prevent them from happening.

Writers note: I left out the full name of my best friend per her request.

Leave a comment