My perspective on this topic

Balloons surround a sign for Sandy Hook in Newtown, Conn. (AP Photo/David Goldman)

Balloons surround a sign for Sandy Hook in Newtown, Conn. (AP Photo/David Goldman)

In my class, JOUR 3380, we had to pick a topic that we find interesting for a class blog project. I picked this topic because I wanted to know what can be done to prevent these tragedies from happening.

In some of my readings, I have found that each individual who has committed a crime like this, has shown some signs of depression or other personality traits. Investigators have learned Adam Lanza showed signs of unusual behavior before he opened fire at Sandy Hook. If we could stop this before it happens, the argument about guns would not be as intense as it usually is and our country would not be so divided.

I hate seeing tragedies like these continue to happen. If there was some way we could help these people without themĀ feeling singled out, we could stop them before they decide to hurt others or themselves.

I am not a government official or a therapist, but I think everyone can agree that we can do something to save the lives of many people.

Leave a comment